Track record versus speed

Topstep vs Lucid Trading

Which one should you choose in 2026? A criterion-by-criterion comparison.

Our pick

Topstep

8.7/10

The original futures prop firm, since 2012

2 / 5 criteria won out of 5Read review
VS
Challenger

Lucid Trading

8.6/10

The most modern futures rules

3 / 5 criteria won out of 5Read review
Head-to-head verdict · Topstep

Topstep keeps the higher overall score thanks to its reputation, the strongest of any futures-only firm in our rankings, and its support. Yet Lucid Trading wins 3 criteria out of 5: it is cheaper, has looser rules and pays in about 15 minutes on average, but it is much younger.

Full comparison

Topstep4 criteria won8.7/10
From
$49/mo
Profit split
90%
Payout frequency
After 5 winning days
Max capital
$750K
Age
14 years
Platforms
TopstepX
Payouts8.8
Rules8.4
Price8.6
Support8.8
Reputation9.6
Read review
Lucid Trading5 criteria won8.6/10
From
$105.20
Profit split
90%
Payout frequency
3-day cycles
Max capital
$750K
Age
1 year
Platforms
Tradovate, NinjaTrader, TradingView, Quantower, Sierra Chart, ATAS
Payouts9.0
Rules8.8
Price9.0
Support8.0
Reputation7.4
Read review

Choose Topstep if you…

  • Want the longest-standing futures firm
  • Are aiming for a real live account
  • Are new to futures (education)

Choose Lucid Trading if you…

  • Are an experienced futures trader (NQ, ES, GC)
  • Want an end-of-day drawdown
  • Want to be paid very quickly

Price at the same account size

Each firm's cheapest challenge for the same account size (public prices without promotions).

SizeTopstepLucid TradingCheaper
50K$49 / monthTrading Combine$105.20LucidFlexNot comparable
100K$99 / monthTrading Combine$170.30LucidDaily IntradayNot comparable
150K$199 / monthTrading Combine$235.60LucidDaily IntradayNot comparable

Rules side by side

What each firm allows, from our checks.

TopstepLucid Trading
News tradingFull-size entries into major news bannedAllowed (except LucidDaily)
EAs and botsAllowed (no HFT)Not specified
Weekend and overnightNo (flat by 3:10 pm CT)No (flat by 4:45 pm EST)
Minimum days5 winning days of $150, or 3 days1 day
Consistency ruleNot specified40% (Pro funded) · 50% (Flex evaluation)

Criterion by criterion

  • Payouts: Topstep 8.8 versus Lucid Trading 9.0, edge to Lucid Trading.
  • Rules: Topstep 8.4 versus Lucid Trading 8.8, edge to Lucid Trading.
  • Price: Topstep 8.6 versus Lucid Trading 9.0, edge to Lucid Trading.
  • Support: Topstep 8.8 versus Lucid Trading 8.0, edge to Topstep.
  • Reputation: Topstep 9.6 versus Lucid Trading 7.4, edge to Topstep.

FAQ

Topstep or Lucid Trading: which one is cheaper?

Their offers are not directly comparable (different sizes or billing). The same-size price table covers each size.

Topstep or Lucid Trading: which one pays better?

On our payouts criterion, Lucid Trading scores 9.0/10 versus 8.8/10. Stated speed: on request at Topstep, ≈ 15 min on average at Lucid Trading.

Which is more reliable, Topstep or Lucid Trading?

On reputation, Topstep scores 9.6/10 versus 7.4/10 for Lucid Trading. Topstep has been around since 2012, Lucid Trading since 2025.

Should I choose Topstep or Lucid Trading?

Topstep wins this head-to-head with 8.7/10 in the YourFunding rankings. Topstep keeps the higher overall score thanks to its reputation, the strongest of any futures-only firm in our rankings, and its support. Yet Lucid Trading wins 3 criteria out of 5: it is cheaper, has looser rules and pays in about 15 minutes on average, but it is much younger.

Go further